New European Bauhaus Prizes 2023

For the third time, the European Commission is organising the New European Bauhaus Prizes. These continuously aim at highlighting spectacular projects as well as innovative concepts that promote aesthetics, sustainability and inclusivity. The NEB Prizes are particularly representative of young architects and women architects, as the projects are evaluated by a professional team of assessors.

The Call for this round of the Bauhaus Prizes have now been opened. Applications are taken from the four different categories:

  • Reconnecting with nature
  • Regaining a sense of belonging
  • Prioritising the places that need it the most
  • Shaping a circular industrial ecosystem and supporting life-cycle thinking

Each of the four categories has separate competitions for different groups of applications:

  • New European Bauhaus Champions: For completed projects
  • New European Bauhaus Rising Stars: For ideas and concepts by young talents under 30
  • New European Bauhaus Education Champions: For projects and initiatives focussed on education and learning

The winners of the categories within their competition each receives EUR 30.000 (or EUR 14.000 for Rising Stars) as well as a communication package from the European.

The submission deadline is on 31 January at 19:00 CET, 2023.

For this year’s round, the West Balkan States may apply with all European Member States.

Visit the prizes platform here.

The European Commission has also called for experts to evaluate the submissions. It is important that the panel of judges and assessors is deeply represented by female architects in order to combat any biases.

Applications can be submitted until December 2022, the European Commission is looking for experts on the categories sustainability, aesthetics and quality of experience as well as inclusiveness. Experts can also apply with a background of education.

For further details for assessors please see the Call for expression of interest for external experts and contract template. You can apply here.